Review: “Blink” by K.L. Slater

33232027“Blink” by K.L. Slater
295 pages, Bookouture (Kindle only)
Published Feb. 16, 2017
ISBN13: 9781786811288

“If only they had a machine that could translate the anxious thoughts that fill my brain. I could tell them how Evie was taken from me, beg them to help me find her before it’s too late. Every day I remember a little more. I’m putting together the pieces of how it happened, of how she disappeared. Sometimes it’s hard to know if my memories are real or just imagined.”

After Toni’s daughter Evie vanishes, she is determined to piece together the events that led up to Evie’s mysterious disappearance.

Following the death of Toni’s husband, she and Evie moved to a new town in order to be closer to Toni’s mother. What was supposed to be a fresh start turned into a nightmare. Evie’s teacher (who was really a teaching assistant) was scary as hell, Toni’s job was great except for a coworker who seemed determined to make her miserable, Toni’s mom had plenty of unsolicited advice, the next-door neighbors were sketchy, and worst of all, it seemed that someone was watching the family’s every move. Toni turned to her late husband’s sedatives in order to cope, but her growing addiction threatened to destroy what little she and Evie had left.

The story alternates between the present day and the months, days and moments before Evie disappeared. It’s hard to say too much about the characters and plot without giving away important details. There are so many potential culprits in Evie’s abduction, and at the same time it’s really easy to suspect Toni did something reckless as she becomes more and more dependent on the sedatives.

My one big gripe with the book is that there’s no way a legit pharmacy would continue to fill a dead man’s prescription. I mean, hello.

I was absolutely riveted by “Blink” and had a hard time putting it down. It moves very quickly from the beginning, with no pauses to catch one’s breath along the way. I’m pretty sure I was slack-jawed by the time I finished it, because MAN, I did not see that ending coming.

I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

5-stars

5 stars

About the author

After years of trying to get published and never getting further than the slush pile, I went

kl_slater-1024x511.jpg

Photo, bio courtesy of author’s website

back to university at the age of 40 where I studied for an English & Creative Writing degree followed by an MA in Creative Writing.

Although I also worked full-time during the five years I studied at university, the courses gave me the time and space to try different writing and increased my confidence and belief in my writing. Before I graduated from my MA, I had secured representation with my agent, Clare Wallace, at the Darley Anderson Literacy, TV and Film Agency and had my first book deal.

My first adult psychological thriller for Bookouture is called ‘Safe with Me’ and it actually started life as my dissertation on my English & Creative Writing degree.

The creepy voice of Anna came to me strong and insistent . . . she wanted to be written, she wouldn’t go away.

I live in Nottingham with my husband, Mac. Between us we have three grown-up kids; my daughter, Francesca and Mac’s sons Nathan and Jake.

I also write multi-award winning YA fiction under the name Kim Slater.

4 thoughts on “Review: “Blink” by K.L. Slater

  1. Great review! I also write book reviews, but mainly for nonfiction books.

    I have learned from the mistakes of successful people just from reading their biographies, which is something that a lot of people don’t think about when it comes to reading.

    If you are interested in the benefits from reading nonfiction, please stop by my page. I post book reviews of inspiring nonfiction, as well as an occasional bit of advice.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

