Bookish Christmas gift haul

Phew! Happy day-after-Christmas to those of you who celebrate the holiday.

I’m experiencing a bit of the post-Christmas doldrums, as per usual. I can’t remember the last time Dec. 26 fell on a Monday, but it’s kind of a bummer – especially since I didn’t have today off work like some of you special people.

2a15623506ef365512a10f6cb64d80af%2F565x0xwidth%2F75%2Fhttp%2Fwww.comedycentral.co.uk%2Fuloop%2Fr=305%2Fgif%2Fsites%2Fdefault%2Ffiles%2Fcc_uk%2Fgalleries%2Flarge%2F2015%2F07%2F01%2Fstanley-.jpg

UGH

 

So, anyway, about Christmas. It was lovely. Jared and I spent Christmas Eve with his parents, and Christmas Day with my grandma and parents.

I don’t know about you guys, but the older I get, the harder it is to tell my family what I want for Christmas. It takes a lot of effort to come up with suggestions that are A.) useful and B.) not boring. Um, clothes? BOOKS? Ha, the book thing is tough because my TBR is ridiculously long and I can’t narrow it down to a wish list anyone can reasonably afford.

My husband flat-out refused to get me a gift card. He thinks it’s a lazy and impersonal move. And despite my best efforts, I couldn’t convince him otherwise when I told him I would be delighted to receive a Barnes & Noble gift card. (Babe, you can totally get me one for my birthday next month. Why would I not appreciate that?)

So, he got creative. “Do you want book stuff?” Um, yes, husband of mine. You know me so well. Get me all the stuff.

Or don’t, actually. I guess we have bills and all that jazz.

Thanks to the many helpful bookworms of the interwebz (you know, bookish gift idea lists galore), Jared thoughtfully chose three items that express my love of reading oh so well.

Behold …

20161226_173057

I used my library card mug, available from Out of Print, for the first time yesterday afternoon when I was in serious need of a caffeine fix. What a quirky idea for a mug … and I love the color, not to mention the chunky handle. It’s just so darn cute.

I can’t remember the last time I’ve been given, or have purchased, an honest-to-goodness bookmark. True bibliophiles know you can save your place in a book with anything – a receipt, a shopping list, you name it – but this wooden bookmark Jared gave me is just beautiful. I love the details on the spine of each book, lined up between sun and moon bookends (this seems appropriate…if I could, I would read from sun-up to sundown!).

Last but certainly not least, I can take my love of reading to work (my new mug is too nice to use at the office) with a book lover’s desk calendar. It includes book recommendations – you know, in case I’m ever at a loss as to what I should read next. Ha…my TBR is going to grow even more out of control this year.

Jared was so worried that I didn’t like what he got me. Trust me, I do! Thank you again, sweetheart.

pagebreak21

Who else received bookish gifts for Christmas? What about books?

 

6 thoughts on “Bookish Christmas gift haul

  1. Pingback: End of year book survey | That Book Lady Blog

Leave a Reply

