Weekend recap and some bookish goodness

Hey, fellow readers! I hope everyone’s Monday is relatively drama-free thus far.

This past weekend was both productive and enjoyable. I went out to dinner with my Jared and my mother-in-law on Friday.

my-copy-of-arrowood

Saturday, I shopped with my mom for necessities and had some long-overdue mother-daughter time. Jared went shopping with his parents for World Series memorabilia and, bless his heart, he also picked up a copy of “Arrowood” for me … giving me plenty of time to at least skim through it again before Laura McHugh’s reading and signing event later this month. I’m so looking forward to that evening!

I used my extra hour, courtesy of Daylight Saving Time, to read rather than sleep in on Sunday. Church, a bit of office time, a visit with my grandma, housework and more reading made for an action-packed day.

the-chilbury-ladies-choir

All that reading time allowed me to finish “The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir” by Jennifer Ryan. What a delightful book! I try to be as objective as possible when I receive ARCs, but I can’t say enough good things about this novel. Below is my five-star review:

“It’s us women in charge now. The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir will rule the world.”

The year is 1940, and the women of Chilbury, a village off the coast of England, are crushed when the vicar disbands the choir for lack of male voices. Thus, the Chilbury Ladies’ Choir is born. Women of all ages and from all walks of life come together and find their spirits are lifted and strengthened not just in song, but in sticking together through the horrors of World War II.

I found most of the characters to be very relatable, and I thought Jennifer Ryan did a fantastic job of developing their stories and showing how the war impacted them for better or for worse. In the acknowledgements, she mentions reading many journals and letters while working on the book … and it shows.

At turns charming, poignant and heart-pounding, “The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir” has it all — drama, romance, suspense and splashes of humor. I was really drawn into the setting and felt like the characters had become my friends by the time I finished reading.

If you enjoy historical fiction that’s written from the heart, but not cheesy, you MUST read this one.

I received an advance copy of this book, through a Goodreads giveaway, in exchange for an honest review.

If you live in Great Britain or Ireland, you can enter to win an ARC here!

 

Now what?

31823691

I’ve now begun “Burning September” by Melissa Simonson. I accepted a review request from the author and received it as a Kindle ebook. I’m not sure what I think of it so far, but I’ve only read about a quarter of it and it’s interesting enough that I’m sticking with it. Then again, I tend to be long-suffering to a fault when it comes to books. My friend Anna has told me, “Life is too short to read bad books.”

I have about half an hour left before I need to head back to work, so I’m going to do a bit more reading. I’ll be back tomorrow with my Top Ten Tuesday of books I’ve recently added to my TBR list.

Until then, happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Weekend recap and some bookish goodness

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Best reads of 2016 | That Book Lady Blog

  2. Pingback: End of year book survey | That Book Lady Blog

Leave a Reply

