Rock the Goodreads vote

The clock on this year’s U.S. general election is winding down (thank God).

tumblr_o3qpb9Yvmg1qc52lxo1_r1_500.gif

Me, too.

But that’s not the type of voting I’m here to talk about – although I hope all my fellow U.S. bloggers will participate in the election if they haven’t already.

3576.jpg

For those of you who don’t use Goodreads or just haven’t been paying attention, the opening round of voting in this year’s Goodreads Choice Awards kicked off Tuesday. If you are on Goodreads and you haven’t cast your first votes yet, you have until Sunday to do so!

The semifinal round is Nov. 8 through 13, and the ultimate winners will be chosen in the finals Nov. 15 through 27.

Here’s how I voted in the opening round

Note: I don’t read every genre considered in the competition, so I only voted in the categories I enjoy.

Best Debut Goodreads Author (write-in) and Best Fiction: “The Girls” by Emma Cline

26893819

Read my review here.

 

Best Mystery & Thriller (write-in): “Arrowood” by Laura McHugh

28007948

Check out my review here.

 

Best Historical Fiction: “Glory Over Everything” by Kathleen Grissom

25813937

See my review here.

 

Best Humor: “Where Am I Now?” by Mara Wilson

29429875.jpg

I have yet to read this one or any of the other Humor nominees, but I adored Mara Wilson back in the day and I admire the way she’s avoided the downward spiral that plagues so many former child stars.

 

Best Non-fiction: “Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City” by Matthew Desmond

25852784

Another TBR. I live in a rural community that has a high poverty rate and a lot of subpar housing, so this one fascinates me.

 

Best Memoir & Autobiography: “Unashamed” by Lecrae

25802615.jpg

Yet another TBR *hangs head in regret.* In my defense, I again have a good reason for choosing a book I haven’t read. My husband and I saw Lecrae live last summer. He is a ridiculously-gifted rap/hip-hop artist who conveys positive messages and uses his talents to proclaim the glory of God. And he has one HECK of a testimony.

Best History & Biography: “Valiant Ambition: George Washington, Benedict Arnold, and the Fate of the American Revolution” by Nathaniel Philbrick

26109390.jpg

As you may have guessed by now, this is another TBR. Jared loves the AMC series “Turn,” which has piqued our interest in Revolutionary War-era espionage.

 

Who else has voted in the opening round? What do you think of the nominees? What were your picks? Any write-ins?

 

 

One thought on “Rock the Goodreads vote

  1. Pingback: End of year book survey | That Book Lady Blog

Leave a Reply

