Book Traveling Thursdays: Favorite author

How ’bout them Cubbies?! I’m still reeling from last night’s World Series victory. It kinda feels like Christmas morning every time I think about it.

gty-world-series-game7-end-25-jrl-161102_12x5_1600

Someday is now! (Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)

 

pagebreak21

It’s Thursday again…time for another installment of Book Traveling Thursdays, a weekly meme hosted by Danielle and Cátia at Goodreads.

This week’s theme is a favorite author. This was a tough one for me … most of my favorite authors have written books that are decades or centuries old, so there are MANY covers to wade through.

As I’ve mentioned previously, I fell in love with Daphne du Maurier’s stories of intrigue and suspense when I first read “Rebecca” in middle school.

“Frenchman’s Creek” was first published in 1941.

Jaded by the numbing politeness of Restoration London, Lady Dona St. Columb revolts against high society. She rides into the countryside, guided only by her restlessness and her longing to escape.

But when chance leads her to meet a French pirate, hidden within Cornwall’s shadowy forests, Dona discovers that her passions and thirst for adventure have never been more aroused. Together, they embark upon a quest rife with danger and glory, one which bestows upon Dona the ultimate choice: sacrifice her lover to certain death or risk her own life to save him.

Frenchman’s Creek is the breathtaking story of a woman searching for love and adventure who embraces the dangerous life of a fugitive on the seas.

I had trouble figuring out which cover was the original so I’m venturing my best guess.

20735330

And now for my country’s cover … there are several interesting ones so I’ll share three  this time around.

3035823079850415292251

 

Here is my favorite … the more artsy, the better.

27823692.jpg

 

And now for my least favorite, a French edition. You’d think this book was a bodice-ripper if you judged it by this cover…yuck.

25871597

Did you participate in this week’s challenge? If so, please share your link in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays: Favorite author

Leave a Reply

