Book Traveling Thursday: Where it all began

This week’s Book Traveling Thursday, a weekly challenge led by Danielle and Catia over at Goodreads, is “a book that got you into reading.”

According to my mom, the first book I ever read out loud was the Dr. Seuss classic “One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish.”

I always feel like I’m bragging when I tell people this โ€“ although I am proud of it โ€“ but I taught myself to read. I am indebted to my parents for reading to me constantly and taking me to the library, and to authors like Dr. Seuss for capturing my imagination.

ย Original cover

9600561

U.S. cover

239973

Not much different from the original, but most editions have a similar cover.

Favorite cover

2064756.jpg

I just like the waves creeping over the edges. ๐Ÿ™‚

Least favorite cover

2447041

There’s nothing really wrong with this one, per se, but where’s the water? The fish can’t breathe! ๐Ÿ˜‰

7 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday: Where it all began

  1. I have no idea what the first book I ever read was. I wish my mom had documented it. You should be proud! I’m insanely proud of how well my 6 year old can read. I feel like I can’t really express that out loud or it’s considered bragging, but when she reads to me I can barely contain my joy!!

    Like

    • Thank you! And I can’t even fathom the emotions that must well up in a parent when their child catches the reading bug. My husband and I will be starting a family in the hopefully-near future. I cannot WAIT to pass on my love of books to our rugrat(s).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. How amazing that you taught yourself to read. That’s an huge accomplishment.

    My parents were like yours, always encouraging me to read (we had weekly library trips which I loved) and encouraging me to write when I started down that path.

    I loved Dr. Suess (I still do). I don’t remember the first book I read, but I remember the first book I read that made me want to be a writer–The Wicked Pigeon Ladies in the Garden. Such Gothic fun for a young girl! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

