WWW Wednesday – Oct. 12, 2016

Happy Wednesday night! Hope everyone had a great hump daaaay. (“Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike.”)

Before this day comes to a close, I’m going to share with you all my first WWW Wednesday post. This challenge comes via Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently reading: “If: Trading Your If Only Regrets for God’s What If Possibilities” by Mark Batterson

if

If is a powerful little word. Some people are stuck in “if only,” trudging through lives marked with regret. But God wants us to live lives marked with possibilities, with the “what if” attitude that looks forward to the future with confidence. Why? Because the answer to “If God is for us, who can be against us?” is “No one.” God is always on our side. Every day, in every way.
With his trademark enthusiasm and contagious joy, Mark Batterson helps readers overcome feelings of guilt, fear, and doubt, because in Christ there is no condemnation. Unpacking the promises of Romans 8, he shows readers that they are more than conquerors – right now and forever. And because of that, the possibilities for their lives are limitless.
Christians from all walks of life will find themselves set free by this inspiring and entertaining read.

My husband and I will celebrate our third wedding anniversary next month, and we are in a season of uncertainty regarding the future. So, for me, this book has been a huge encouragement so far (I’m about halfway through it). The fact that I won it in a Goodreads giveaway was totally a God thing.

Highly recommend to new believers and those who have been walking with Jesus for a while.

 

Recently read: “Darkness Falls” by Joyce Anne Schneider

darkness-falls

Psychiatrist Amanda Hammond returns to her sleepy but monied hometown of Grand Cove, Connecticut, to set up a practice and is immediately confronted by the possible murder of a patient, a death that recalls that of Amanda’s mother years before.

Suspenseful, with an unexpected ending. The last few paragraphs made me groan, though … kinda cheesy, like much of the writing. I haven’t read many books from the 1980s, but this one seems to capture the era pretty well (let’s just be honest!).

Reading next: “The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir” by Jennifer Ryan

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir.jpg

“Just because the men have gone to war, why do we have to close the choir? And precisely when we need it most!”
As England enters World War II’s dark early days, spirited music professor Primrose Trent, recently arrived to the village of Chilbury, emboldens the women of the town to defy the Vicar’s stuffy edict to shutter the church’s choir in the absence of men and instead “carry on singing.” Resurrecting themselves as “The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir,” the women of this small village soon use their joint song to lift up themselves, and the community, as the war tears through their lives.
Told through letters and journals, THE CHILBURY LADIES’ CHOIR moves seamlessly from budding romances to village intrigues to heartbreaking matters of life and death. As we come to know the struggles of the charismatic members of this unforgettable outfit– a timid widow worried over her son at the front; the town beauty drawn to a rakish artist; her younger sister nursing an impossible crush and dabbling in politics she doesn’t understand; a young Jewish refugee hiding secrets about her family, and a conniving midwife plotting to outrun her seedy past– we come to see how the strength each finds in the choir’s collective voice reverberates in her individual life. In turns funny, charming and heart-wrenching, this lovingly executed ensemble novel will charm and inspire, illuminating the true spirit of the women on the homefront, in a village of indomitable spirit, at the dawn of a most terrible conflict.

I feel so privileged to own an ARC of this historical fiction novel – another Goodreads giveaway acquisition (more on my giveaway obsession later!) – that’s not due for release until Valentine’s Day 2017. I love stories from the World War II era, I love music and I love reading about strong women.

My copy of “The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir” arrived on Monday, and I’m already in love with it after holding the buttery-soft cover in my hands and feeling the texture of the sheet music-style title (pretty fancy for an ARC). I’m such a nerd …

What are your WWW picks this week?

3 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – Oct. 12, 2016

  1. Wow, that’s a really diverse selection. And I’m so glad you received a copy of “If” when you needed it. I haven’t read it (or any of these) but “IF” sounds intriguing. I just finished a cozy mystery called Mystery Ink:, Mystery Heir, am presently reading a Halloween suspense novel called Bloodwalker, and next up….Yikes, that’s a toss up. I have so many books on my TBR. Maybe Empty Room, a psychological thriller or Broker Harbor by Tana French, a Dublin murder-squad mystery novel.
    I love seeing what others are reading and recommend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I realized when I was putting it together that I have a pretty good mix of genres. My tastes in reading have really expanded over the years and I try to alternate between genres and fiction/non-fiction. Your WWWs all sound so interesting…I believe “Broker Harbor” might be on my TBR list as well; it seems familiar!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

